US federal government
government · JSON
$16B committed out across 2 live deal(s) · $43B received across 3. Face value, as announced; undisclosed amounts count as deals and add nothing.
US federal government in focus. Click a company for its page, a curve for the deal.
Counterparties
| Counterparty | US government pays / invests | US government receives | Deals | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAI | — | $42.6B | 1 | |
| Intel | $8.9B | — | 1 | |
| TSMC | $6.6B | — | 1 | |
| NVIDIA | — | — | 1 | |
| AMD | — | — | 1 |
Announced per month
Click a month to list the deals.
US government pays or invests
| Deal | Amount ▾ | Type | Announced | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| US government → Intel | $8.9B 433.3M shares at $20.47 = 9.9% stake, funded from $5.7B of undisbursed CHIPS grants + $3.2B Secure Enclave; passive (no board seat), votes with the board; plus a 5-year warrant for a further 5% at $20 exercisable only if Intel's foundry ownership falls below 51%. | Government stake / grant | 2025-08-22 closed / funded | Intel newsroom #eee918 |
| US government → TSMC | $6.6B Taxonomy stretch: CHIPS Act GRANT (up to $6.6B direct funding, milestone-based) plus up to $5B of proposed loans for TSMC Arizona; no equity taken. | Government stake / grant | 2024-11-15 closed / funded | US Commerce Department #b50529 |
US government receives
| Deal | Amount ▾ | Type | Announced | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAI → US government | $42.6B PROPOSAL ONLY (Financial Times, 2026-07-02): a 5% stake - about $42.6B at $852B - in a public-wealth vehicle. Early stage, would need Congress; not executed. | Government stake / grant | 2026-07-02 reported, not confirmed by the parties | CNBC, citing Financial Times · second source single-source figure #082e42 |
| Nvidia → US government | undisclosed 15% of H20 China sales as a condition of export licences (August 2025); H200 later allowed with a 25% cut (December 2025). Realised payments not disclosed. | Revenue share | 2025-08-11 announced | CBS News (Reuters/FT-reported, confirmed by Trump) · second source single-source figure #4cbbb3 |
| AMD → US government | undisclosed 15% of MI308 China sales as an export-licence condition; realised amounts not disclosed. | Revenue share | 2025-08-11 announced | CBS News single-source figure #d3900f |
Every amount links to its source; a "reported" status means the parties never confirmed it; cancelled deals stay listed. All deals · how this site works.