[$_$][$o$]Natural Stupidity broke prod markets money ledger this week hall of fails studio cookbook toys about profile

Follow the Money

The circular economy of AI: chipmakers invest in labs that buy chips; clouds fund labs that buy cloud; the same dollars get announced twice. 79 live deals, $2,008B at face value plus 16 with no disclosed figure — each traced to a source. Data as of 2026-08-30 · JSON.

clear

Showing 5 of 82 deals for US federal government. Clear.

Bubble Thermometer: 15/100 — cool

15/100 (cool): "bubble" said 0× this week (flat from 0); AI basket market spread unknown; $0B of deals announced this month.

Components: talk 0 · markets 50 · money 0 (weights 40/30/30). Each input links to where it comes from: "bubble" in this week's feed (0, prior week 0) · the AI basket against QQQ over a month · $0B announced in 2026-09. An attention index from this site's own data; it measures temperature, not the future.

2026-09-16: 15/100 (cool)

Daily readings since 2026-09-16. JSON

Equity investmentCompute / cloud contractChip supply dealRevenue shareAcquisitionGovernment stake / grantDebt, guarantee or project financedashed: reported, not confirmedthin: amount undisclosedlisted companyprivate companygovernmentjoint venturemany lendersUS government → Intel: $8.9B · Government stake / grant · 2025-08-22 · closed / funded — 433.3M shares at $20.47 = 9.9% stake, funded from $5.7B of undisbursed CHIPS grants + $3.2B Secure Enclave; passive (no board seat), votes with the board; plus a 5-year warrant for a further 5% at $20 exercisable only if Intel's foundry ownership falls below 51%.Nvidia → US government: amount undisclosed · Revenue share · 2025-08-11 · announced — 15% of H20 China sales as a condition of export licences (August 2025); H200 later allowed with a 25% cut (December 2025). Realised payments not disclosed.OpenAI → US government: $42.6B · Government stake / grant · 2026-07-02 · reported, not confirmed by the parties — PROPOSAL ONLY (Financial Times, 2026-07-02): a 5% stake - about $42.6B at $852B - in a public-wealth vehicle. Early stage, would need Congress; not executed.OpenAI — open its pageOpenAIAnthropic — open its pageAnthropicxAI — open its pagexAIMicrosoft — open its pageMicrosoftAmazon — open its pageAmazonAlphabet (Google) — open its pageGoogleMeta Platforms — open its pageMetaOracle — open its pageOracleCoreWeave — open its pageCoreWeaveNebius Group — open its pageNebiusCrusoe — open its pageCrusoeNscale — open its pageNscaleStargate JV (OpenAI, SoftBank, Oracle, MGX) — open its pageStargate JVNVIDIA — open its pageNvidiaBroadcom — open its pageBroadcomIntel — open its pageIntelGroq — open its pageGroqSoftBank Group — open its pageSoftBankBlue Owl Capital (managed funds) — open its pageBlue OwlBond, loan & private-credit markets — open its pageBond & loan marketsSpaceX — open its pageSpaceXUS federal government — open its pageUS government

US federal government in focus: its curves keep their colour, the rest fade. The 22 busiest counterparties and the 3 live deals between them that match the filter. Click a company for its page, click a curve to jump to that deal and its source. Curve width scales with the amount (log); colour is the deal type; dashed means reported but not confirmed by the parties; thin means no figure was disclosed.

Announced per month — US federal government

Face value as announced; the grey stubs are deals later cancelled or never closed, which stay out of the total. Click a month to list its deals.

Biggest counterparties

EntityCommitted outReceived inLive deals
OpenAI$827B$261B21
Oracle$47B$370B6
Microsoft$78B$318B10
Amazon$83B$238B6
xAI$0B$274B6
SpaceX$252B$0B2
Anthropic$151B$91B12
NVIDIA$184B$40B18
Meta Platforms$107B$27B10
SoftBank Group$91B$0B6
CoreWeave$0B$86B8
Bond, loan & private-credit markets$78B$0B4
US federal government$16B$43B5
Alphabet (Google)$43B$11B6

Announced and reported amounts at face value; "up to" commitments count in full — that is how the headlines count them, and why every row carries its notes. Every company name is a page.

5 deals, with sources

Amounts link to the source they come from; companies link to their pages; types, months and statuses filter the page; the # is the deal's anchor.

DealAmount ▾TypeAnnouncedSource
OpenAIUS government$42.6B
PROPOSAL ONLY (Financial Times, 2026-07-02): a 5% stake - about $42.6B at $852B - in a public-wealth vehicle. Early stage, would need Congress; not executed.
Government stake / grant2026-07-02
reported, not confirmed by the parties
CNBC, citing Financial Times · second source
single-source figure
#082e42
US governmentIntel$8.9B
433.3M shares at $20.47 = 9.9% stake, funded from $5.7B of undisbursed CHIPS grants + $3.2B Secure Enclave; passive (no board seat), votes with the board; plus a 5-year warrant for a further 5% at $20 exercisable only if Intel's foundry ownership falls below 51%.
Government stake / grant2025-08-22
closed / funded
Intel newsroom
#eee918
US governmentTSMC$6.6B
Taxonomy stretch: CHIPS Act GRANT (up to $6.6B direct funding, milestone-based) plus up to $5B of proposed loans for TSMC Arizona; no equity taken.
Government stake / grant2024-11-15
closed / funded
US Commerce Department
#b50529
NvidiaUS governmentundisclosed
15% of H20 China sales as a condition of export licences (August 2025); H200 later allowed with a 25% cut (December 2025). Realised payments not disclosed.
Revenue share2025-08-11
announced
CBS News (Reuters/FT-reported, confirmed by Trump) · second source
single-source figure
#4cbbb3
AMDUS governmentundisclosed
15% of MI308 China sales as an export-licence condition; realised amounts not disclosed.
Revenue share2025-08-11
announced
CBS News
single-source figure
#d3900f

Deal Watch — reported in the last 45 days (automatic, unverified)

Headlines from the feed go through a model that extracts who-pays-whom; a report appears here only when two different publishers agree on the parties and the amounts agree within 25%. Every publisher name links to the headline. Nothing in this box is in the verified graph above until a data review confirms it against a primary source.

No two-source reports in the window — the extractor needs an AI provider key.

The bubble reads

Method: a deal is listed only when it traces to a press release, an SEC filing, or top-tier reporting, with its date and status. Amounts are as announced or credibly reported; status says whether a deal closed, is staged, or was only reported. Not investment advice.

[$_$] ^ top